Botanical garden in the heart of the West Indies

Guadeloupe, 2022

It is in this former property of Coluche , located on one of the islands of Guadeloupe , that the botanical garden of Deshaies is located . It was Guy Blandin , the previous owner, who created this garden. A plant lover, he used to bring back seeds from his travels around the world .  Unfortunately, Hurricane Hugo in 1989 devastated a large part of the plants. It was on the initiative of Coluche, who asked his friend Michel Gaillard , landscape gardener, to take up the torch in order to revive this heavenly place of more than 7 hectares .

In memory of the artist, Michel Gaillard bought the property in 1991 in order to create a botanical garden with the help of designers, landscape professionals and nature lovers. It was in 2001 that it opened its doors to the general public .

We had the privilege of visiting this magnificent garden which is home to more than 1000 species . Suffice to say that we had all our senses awakened during the 1.5km of this magical course . Here are some pictures:

Arbre des lianes
Arbre des lianes

press to zoom
Jardin botanique de Deshaies
Jardin botanique de Deshaies

press to zoom
Palmiers
Palmiers

press to zoom
Arbre des lianes
Arbre des lianes

press to zoom
1/14

Jardin botanique au cœur des Antilles

Guadeloupe, 2022

C’est dans cette ancienne propriété de Coluche, située sur l’une des iles de la Guadeloupe, que se situe le jardin botanique de Deshaies. C’est Guy Blandin, précédent propriétaire qui créa ce jardin. Amoureux des plantes, il avait pour habitude de ramener des graines de ses voyages aux quatre coins du monde.  Malheureusement le cyclone Hugo de 1989 a dévasté une grande partie des plantes. C’est à l’initiative de Coluche, qui demanda à son ami Michel Gaillard, paysagiste pépiniériste, de reprendre le flambeau afin de redonner vie à cet endroit paradisiaque de plus de 7 hectares.

En souvenir de l’artiste, Michel Gaillard racheta la propriété en 1991 afin d’y réaliser un jardin botanique avec l’aide de concepteurs, professionnels du paysage et amoureux de la nature. C’est en 2001 qu’il ouvrira ses portes au grand publique.

Nous avons eu le privilège de visiter ce magnifique jardin qui abrite plus de 1000 espèces. Autant vous dire que nous avions tous nos sens en éveil durant les 1.5km de ce parcours féérique. En voici quelques images :

Arbre des lianes
Arbre des lianes

press to zoom
Jardin botanique de Deshaies
Jardin botanique de Deshaies

press to zoom
Palmiers
Palmiers

press to zoom
Arbre des lianes
Arbre des lianes

press to zoom
1/14